Twice-baked potatoes with Guinness onions & kale: $1.35/serving

This is the last of the on-sale Guinness for this year, I promise. But I just couldn’t resist—fluffy baked potatoes with caramelized onions and Guinness and kale and cheddar cheese? It’s just as good as it sounds. Simple, filling, and less than $1.50 for the extremely generous serving you see on this plate.

As below, it makes 4 servings (2 potato halves per person). The leftovers can be wrapped in foil and reheated for lunch. Despite this recipe being adapted from fellow Portlander Ivy Manning’s “Farm to Table Cookbook: The Art of Eating Locally,” it should be noted I did not use local potatoes, or kale. Sorry, Ivy.

• 4 russet potatoes: $1.41
• 4 oz. cheddar cheese, grated: $1
• 2 large onions, thinly sliced pole-to-pole: 40 cents
• 8 oz. Guinness (I used a 12 oz. bottle, but the onions and kale did end up on the bitter side): $1
• 1 small bunch kale (dinosaur or lacinato kale is always best, but our store only carries curly) or chard or other greens, leaves chopped: $1.49
• 1 cup buttermilk: 37 cents
• 2 T butter: 12 cents
• 2 T oil, plus more for rubbing potatoes: 6 cents
• Salt & pepper: 2 cents
TOTAL: $5.87/4 = $1.47/serving

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Rub the potatoes with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, and place directly on the middle oven rack. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour, until they have some give.

Meanwhile, heat the 2 T oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add the onions and a large pinch of salt and cook until browned and starting to stick to the bottom of the pan. Deglaze the pan with a little Guinness, scraping up the browned bits. Cook until the onions are again beginning to stick to the bottom of the pan, and deglaze with a little more Guinness. Repeat until the Guinness is gone and the onions are dark brown and caramelized, about 45 minutes. Add the kale and cover the sauté pan. Cook for about 10 minutes, until kale is wilted.

When the potatoes are done, carefully cut them in half and scoop out the insides with a spoon, leaving about 1/4 inch of potato on all sides. (I failed at this, so for insurance I cooked them in little foil boats.)

Mash the potato with the buttermilk and butter.

Fold in the kale-onion mixture, season to taste with salt and pepper.

Mound the potato mixture back into the potatoes, sprinkle with cheese, and bake at 400 F for around 15 minutes, until cheddar is melted.

5 responses to “Twice-baked potatoes with Guinness onions & kale: $1.35/serving

  1. very nice…I have some fresh kale coming in soon.Thanks for the idea

  2. I love this recipe! I too had left over Guinness, which I used for my corned beef. A quick word if warning though, if you are getting bitterness, you may be using Guinness STOUT. I find, for cooking, the Guinness DRAFT works much better, less color and no detectable bitterness. Also, When I use Guinness STOUT, I tend to leave it out to get flat, and sometimes I add agave syrup before I leave it, but if you do this, use caution. adding anything to carbonated liquids can get uncontrollably messy. The last Time I used Stout, I poured it into a skillet and heated it to get it flatter faster. I love your Blog and read it religiously, and have use more of your recipes than I can count. The spam musubi was probably something i shouldn’t have tried, because I am now addicted.

    I should also add that I love reading things that are well written, and your blog is one of the best written things on the internet these days. Everyone else seems to have abandoned all grammar and style.

  3. I’ve not cooked that often with beer. Any thoughts on what other kinds of beer would do to this recipe?

  4. The idea is to complement the sweetness of the onions, so any stout would work, but you could try substituting a porter or other dark ale.

Leave a Reply

